Poets logo

My Soul and I

On a path to self-discovery, this narrator questions her willingness to save herself.

By Bethanie SherwoodPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
3
Illustration created by author

If I could multiply or manifest

My soul into something tangible

Would she kneel at my side

Scoop up my chin, and

Wipe the tears from my eyes?

Would she understand the things I can't say

Or would she let the silence hang

In rooms darkened by shame?

Could she demonstrate?

Is she kind enough to partake

A simple gesture to placate the ache?

Would she give me strength?

What of solitude?

I can't shoulder it alone but

I'm too anxious to find you

There's a woman in the mirror

I don't recognize

Is she here to help me

To aid in my self-discovery

Or does she plan to sit idly by

If I go to her with a knife jammed into my side

Will she perform first aid

Or rejoice that I might die?

Who am I, inside?

surreal poetrysad poetry
3

About the Creator

Bethanie Sherwood

Writer + Illustrator in northwest Iowa. Previously known as Ziza Dabbles. Check out more of my work, here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    A very poignant poem yet so beautifully written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.