Poets logo

My Socks

Sometimes in life it's the little things.

By Karyn SavagePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
My Socks
Photo by Valeriia Miller on Unsplash

It's the little things in life

That are often overlooked:

Finding that your favourite band

Is still not fully booked.

Taking things for granted:

Not seeing life as a whole,

Means I may not notice

That he replaced the toilet roll.

Little subtle gestures

From those passing down the street,

A little smile can change the face

Of the people that you meet.

A simple cup of Earl Grey tea

With just a splash of milk and honey,

Can smooth every anxious thought

From my head down to my tummy.

A stroll along the water's edge,

With sand between the toes,

Is by far the best medicine

That any body knows.

The giggle of a baby,

Can make my spirit sing:

Such pure and innocent joy,

From such a tiny thing.

A pillow is just cotton,

Stuffed with lots of fluff.

Sinking my head down in it,

Is soothing enough.

A hand written letter,

Is really paper and some ink,

How special is the time it took

Someone to tell you what they think.

It's never the expensive things,

Not handbags, heels and party frocks,

The thing that brings the most comfort of all,

Are my cosy, compfy, cotton pair of socks.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Karyn Savage

A teacher, musician and writer at heart. I love painting pictures with words. Poetry and stories in rhyme are what I love to write the most. One day I hope to see some of my works for children in print.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.