Poets logo

My smile gave him hope

"to smile again"

By Gloria PenelopePublished 18 days ago 1 min read
8
My smile gave him hope
Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

On a bus to George

I saw a man.

He looked sad.

Angry

And traumatized

I stared at him.

I kept staring at him.

until he noticed that

I've been staring at him.

He looked at me.

with his sad face.

I looked aside.

His face scared me.

I looked back and forth.

No one noticed that I was smiling.

We were both staring at each other.

I smiled at him.

He tried to ignore me.

I kept smiling each time our eyes met.

He smiled back at me.

We both smiled at each other.

His angry face loosened up.

He shifted closer.

He sat next to me.

The bus was not full.

"Hello"

he said

"Hi"

I replied with a smile.

He kept quiet.

I kept quiet, too.

"Where are you going?"

He asked

"George"

I replied

"me too"

He replied.

Our friendship began.

We became friends.

I realized that my smile

made a difference

Someone became happy.

My smile gave him hope.

After anger

He smiled again.

Free VerseHaikuFriendship
8

About the Creator

Gloria Penelope

Every creative piece is just me telling a story. Enjoy my creative writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)15 days ago

    This is so beautiful! Thank you for the wonderful reminder to always smile. It could be the only thing that someone needs. 🙏

  • This was so heartwarming! Loved your poem!

  • Finally there were ok! So I am too happy!

  • Andrea Corwin 18 days ago

    Oh, good for you for helping him and bringing him a bit of joy! Smiles are great!! Like your poem.

  • Shirley Belk18 days ago

    The price of a smile...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.