Poets logo

My Skin

By: Michelle Joseph

By Michelle JosephPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
No one can never silence me talking about my skin and ancestors

When I hear the word "Black" I feel proud because I know what my ancestors went through because of the color of the skin. I'm not ashamed because my ancestors were hard working people despite the cruelty and abused they faced weathered it was physical, mental or emotional. I love my skin and the history that comes with it, till this day we're being treated with disrespect and unfair treatments hopefully in the future that will change. I'm grateful for getting to experiences what black people have to go through when being bashed because I know how to handle it next time listing names of black entrepreneurs that were under rated. I I'm black and I'm not afraid to scream it; I love my black beautiful melanin skin that glows in the sun.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Michelle Joseph

"I'm just me expressing my thoughts and how I feel; there's no such thing as normal – everyone is different." Embracing our individuality and diversity in human nature is crucial for personal growth and societal harmony.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.