Poets logo

My Side

By Lolly Vieira

By Lolly VieiraPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
My Side
Photo by Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

Why do you want to be me?

Is that projection I see?

So intimidated and jealous

But you claim that it's me

With all seeing eyes, it's time to see

The truth.

The truth indeed.

The harassment at stake

Happens to threaten me.

Though you'll say the opposite.

Point out all my flaws

How I'm imperfect, objectively weird,

Immorally raw

Maybe I am

Maybe I'm crazy

That's what gaslighting makes you feel

I question it all

Reread with zeal

Because there has to be something that's making you act this way

I confronted

Asked for peace

I put it on the table and you threw it away.

Woman of many names,

You stalk the ones I love

You've abused them with hatred

As below so above

Even in the midst of chaos is a balance

I want you to see

The war is inside you, you're lost at sea

I know because I've been there too

Without a life raft

Abuse isolated me

Made me small and bitter

I lacked common decency

Victimization is real when you're a victim

It can be hard to leave the mentality

But you can survive too.

You can survive abuse. And lost children.

I know because I have too.

We aren't so different

Except for matters of accountability

But I hope

And pray

To the universe

That you'll stop seeing yourself and claiming it's me

I have boundaries now

Bet you haven't heard because you don't even know me

I'm a fighter now, no longer freeze

I fight for truth

And justice

And peace

And growth

And love

A righteous flame burns within me for these

I hope you feel called to truth too

Self reflective truth in you

I forgive you

I see you

Lost in a world of pain

But find your way to outer space

And just be

And let me be

surreal poetryStream of Consciousnessslam poetryMental HealthCONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

Lolly Vieira

Welcome to my page where I make sense of all the facets of myself through poetry and short stories.

I'm an artist of many mediums and strive to know and do better every day.

https://linktr.ee/lollyslittlelovelies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.