Poets logo

My Scar

A Poem

By Victoria VargasPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
1

My hand shakes trying to unlock the door

and my arm trembles under the heap of clothes thrown over

and you walk up those stairs and scream

My head hits that door not once, not twice, but three times.

That’s a memory that never leaves…

I didn’t clean the litter box that day

and I didn’t put that rice in the fridge for dinner later

and you screamed, and chased me around the house with that burner

You swiped twice and hit third, that same pattern

On that third, that blood poured from the inside out,

and I stopped loving you

and held my nose together trying to piece back the skin that was ripped

and I cried hard

You begged me not to tell, not to speak, not to make a big deal out of anything

So I went to bed

and let every tear go,

and decided

to stop Loving you,

my mother...

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Victoria Vargas

Hello all! I’m a Chicago native and currently in school as an English-Creative Writing major with a minor in Art. Hopefully some of my work is worth the read and I hope it enjoy it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.