Poets logo

My Rare Jewel

It Doesn’t Happen Often So Take Notice When it Does!

By Linda BromleyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
My Rare Jewel
Photo by Conscious Design on Unsplash

I wake up bright and fresh and

In minutes I’m dressed and coffee made

Bounding outside to tackle my day

With ease I run errands

In and out of shops

Off and on the bus

Meeting some friends for lunch

I sit in a wooden chair

Oblivious to my body

Then meetings and appointments

Fill my afternoon

I’m tired but nothing big

Home to cook dinner

Even cleaning up

Yet still I don’t notice

Im finally in bed

Reflecting on the day

And suddenly I realise

Not once did I cry

Or reach for pills

And use all my spoons

No throbbing burn pounding my legs

No shooting pains up my back

No useless swollen aching hands

It actually happened

A very rare day

When I felt normal

I didn’t even notice

The lack of misery

I alway live in

That’s a great sign that

It hasn’t won

I can still triumph…

Sometimes!

This is a rare jewel today

In my life of chronic pain

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Linda Bromley

Just one of many creative outlets for me has been books! My whole life I’ve loved them and it’s so easy to make the jump to writing.

Recently I completed a poetry challenge and now, looking for more excuses to write, I’ve found myself here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.