Poets logo

My Pride

What the colors mean to me

By Cody DunningtonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Pride
Photo by Stavrialena Gontzou on Unsplash

The rainbow flag is a symbol for many

Any every person gives it different meaning

For me, it's something I hold dear

It was there for me at what was the hardest time of my life

Here is what it means to me:

Red - R - Realization

Red was the realization moment, when things finally became clear

Orange - O - Openness

Orange was the sense of openness, both with myself and those I held dear

Yellow - Y - Yearning

Yellow is the yearning that I feel to this day, the yearning of finding that someone special to hold near

Green - G - Giddiness

Green is the giddiness I feel every time I come out, it's mixed with a little anxiety of just what I might hear

Blue - B - Brave

Blue is for being brave, taking the step to accept myself, despite all the fear

Indigo - I - Individuality

Indigo is for the individuality that comes with setting myself free, now I am me at anytime, not just once a year

Violet - V - Vocal

Violet is for vocal, something I now am, about all the issues, and from this path, I vow to not veer

There it is, the importance of it to me

It's a special thing for me and so many others

I hope my meanings mean a little something to you, too

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Cody Dunnington

Just a 20 something year old with big dreams and access to word processing software.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.