Poets logo

My Power

Black Hole Mind

By Angiie Kiiya JonesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
My Power
Photo by Bernard Tuck on Unsplash

The days are still and mundane but yet,

My mind runs like a track star

One idea here and one thought there

Life makes us wonder why life is so unfair

The chocolate of my skin they call black

I guess that’s my colour,

I don’t think it’s an attack

I love my beautiful dark melanin,

It glistens in the sun that’s my skin

that’s my melanin

That’s my power,

Black

The colour of the hole my mind wanders in

The ideas running around

So many thoughts of different calibers

That’s my power

Black

My mind is analytic

But experiences so sympathetic

Black is what I’ve experienced

& love is what made me who I am

Happiness is my morning tea

& Mary Jane my nightly meditation

Notebooks filled with notes of my legacy

My plan, my work, my vision, my destiny

A planner, write it down and execute

That’s my power

Black

So many interests that need to be explored

& because of that hole in my mind

My routes will be secure

That’s my power

Black

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Angiie Kiiya Jones

I am an entrepreneur aspiring to be many things, with writing being one of my many interests growing up, this platform is the perfect place to express my thoughts and experiences through my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.