Poets logo

My place in Black

I found my place in the emptiness

By its really good to see youPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My place in Black
Photo by Mathew Schwartz on Unsplash

We are a living painting.

Bursting and coalescing

within the dark canvas of space.

I found my place

in Black.

My purpose in the composition of this cosmic masterpiece is to give

shape

to the colors

of others.

To provide shade in luminosity’s excess.

To manifest a home for lonely complexions convinced that they aren’t divine reflections.

To be the throne upon which dim glows rest

exhausted and unaware

of their intrinsic royalty.

I proudly cast my shadows upon their doubt

to remind them

of their inherent

significance.

Should one of you radiant hues choose to explore my dark depths,

you’ll find a message inscribed upon every wall of my light-less labyrinth.

If you come as you are, you will see that it reads:

“You are indescribable and

eternally

worthy

of every attempt

to do so.

You are Light. A divinely refracted and reflected hue.

Yes you. Who reads this.

Yes you. Who perceives this seamless agreement of color and shadow we call life.

Yes you. Who breathes and believes in things as unique as the prints on your fingers.

Be the light ray that lingers.”

As Black, I compliment and amplify every color of this cosmic creation

in elation and appreciation for existence.

I am the space within which nothing is ever truly lost, only found, and I found

myself

in that space.

In my place, in Black, you’re already whole.

The colors around you are painted to ground you.

There’s nowhere to run.

You’re already home.

We are a living painting

Bursting and coalescing

within the dark canvas of space.

I found my place

in Black

and I stand out

because you do.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

its really good to see you

I am Jay.

My goals are to creatively encourage you to cultivate genuine self love and to free your mind.

I invite you to step into genuine tranquility and light.

I offer seeds for the garden of your body, mind, and soul.

I hope you plant them

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.