Poets logo

My Own Worst Enemy

Lacking in self confidence

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 2 min read
11
My Own Worst Enemy
Photo by Timothy Eberly on Unsplash

I stumble, I trip, I fall, I slip

From trying too hard at times,

More I try the clumsier I am

Must step between the lines.

***

Always been socially awkward

Truely I don’t fit in this world,

Guaranteed to seem like a fool

Should be a boy, not a girl.

***

A total lack of confidence

In any social setting,

Doesn’t get more awkward

Than with me, I’m betting.

***

Of course, this is all hidden

Hidden down deep inside,

Not for public viewing

To let you see, no I’d die.

***

I struggle so terribly

Prefer to hang at home,

Love my own company

Call it imposter syndrome.

***

Once behind closed doors

I can totally be me,

No crippling anxiety

I am absolutely free.

***

Unfortunately the older I am

The worst my anxiety gets,

Happy to stay home bound

Just me and my pets.

***

Society is so judgemental

Judged for how you look,

Clothes you are wearing

Your posts on Facebook.

***

But deep down inside

I have this gnawing feeling,

Lack off confidence

My happiness it’s stealing.

***

Judgemental Society aside

I am my own worst enemy,

Anxiety and guilty feelings

Leave me with no energy.

***

I’m slowly becoming a hermit

I love the days I can’t face,

The big wide World outside

No beings from the human race.

******************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry
11

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.