Poets logo

My Own Noises

I am the calm I am the storm

By Brenton FPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
(C) The Painter of Cows

it’s hard enough

to drown out

my own noise

let alone

the babbling effluent of others

in this auditory jungle

i never saw the fire in my eyes

i didn't have a mirror

i didn't have a cover

i didn't have a plan

just a funny feeling in my gut

a tingle and a buzz in my nut

i look inside and i’m all shut

another broken boredom slut

i never felt the flame in my heart

not a single fuckin thing

i didn't dare i didn't share

i didn't have a single clue

there was no them, no we, no us

no i, no me, no you

i never thought i could be that affected

and so deliriously apathetic

both at the same bloody time

no cares just silly giggles

and some silly fuckin wriggles

getting caught

caught up in a squirm

escape the dream

the curse, the worm

i never really knew i could know

know a me free of doubt

know a me free from pain

know a me free from knowing

and having to do it all again

but still given the option

i’d like to be free once more

completely bindless

beholden to neither

man state or god

nothing to lose

but we don't get to pick

don't get to choose

running blind

with what we're given

crazed and wilded

on the edge living

running for shelter

not running for fame

gunning for freedom

not gunning for game

a proximity pose

a process i suppose

and if it glows

drop it..

.and bail

STAT!

surreal poetrysocial commentary
5

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Nice piece ❤️

  • Jacob Shermanabout a year ago

    Relentlessly beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.