Poets logo

My Old Coat

Some things should be left behind

By Kelsey WindsPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
My Old Coat
Photo by Eliza Ari on Unsplash

I took out my old coat today

I haven’t worn it, it's been put away

But today, I broke

I pulled out my coat

Just around the house, I’d say

I won’t wear it outside or during the day

Just for a moment, I’ll let it encase me

Waste me

But I drift away in it

I hide my face in it

I begin to suffocate in it

But it feels like silk on my skin

I don’t want to break it

sad poetryElegy

About the Creator

Kelsey Winds

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Esala Gunathilake3 days ago

    Loved your writing. Keep it up.

  • T. Licht4 days ago

    some stuff are sentimental. Great poem!

  • Kendall Defoe 4 days ago

    Perfectly describes how I feel about giving things away before the move!

KWWritten by Kelsey Winds

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.