Poets logo

My Name

Is me

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 2 min read
2

Dear Father, I do not want your name any longer

I don’t want this name that was assigned to me at birth

Through fluke, accident or divine cruelty

You can trim the family tree and remove me, I am done

I want no part of this tribe and heartache any longer

I don’t want to be a part of you

Or your familial ways

You are not what I want to represent

In the eternal heavenly Book of Truth.

So Dear Father, I am giving your name back to you

Because when the angels finally call out for me

I don’t want them to send me to you and yours

Dear Father of my children, I do not want your name any longer

I thought you would be a clean start for me

And I had such high hopes that your family

Would be strong, beautiful and loving

But I was so very very wrong

I had so hoped to wear your name with pride and honor

But your ancestral arrogance never wanted to accept me as one of them

I never felt comfortable in the false

Garments of shame being your wife provided

So Dear Father of my children, I am giving your name back to you

Because when the angels finally call out for me

I do not want them to send me to your clan

Dear Love of my Eternity, I will gladly take your name,

As God intended me to

And as you asked me to do on that cold January night

When life was fading from your sharp blue eyes

And your breathing became so short and shallow

We made a covenant with each other

To love and last forever as we always have

Time had run out on earth to marry,

I want to be part of all that you are, not just for you, but for us

So Dear Love of my Eternity, I will gladly take your name

Because when the angels finally call out for me

I want them to let you know, I have come home where I belong

And that I am yours forever

- Julie O'Hara

If you like this article, please consider tipping (below) or even becoming a patron. My books can be found on my website www.sacredsloth.net or online at Amazon and Barnes and Nobles under the name of Julie O’Hara Thank you very much and blessings on your journey.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Elle Vihman11 months ago

    I love this. When I translated it, I had a vision, that instead of blue eyes there were black eyes. And I had a warm whirl of love. https://yksikhunt.com/2023/05/18/minu-nimi-olen-mina/

  • Wonderful words Julie

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.