Poets logo

My Name

Who I Am Supposed to Be, Who I Am, and Who I Pray I Never Become

By Hattie MurdockPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
And Then It Was Empty

Hattie. The venturing into a new world. A soft whisper from exhausted lips that had consumed 3 too many shots. A moment of sentiment, from a mother, who was only so for a second. My name, Hattie, is warped. Twisted like the stories of the gods. It is a storm, raging beneath a calm facade. A story, that time will bury underneath the sands it holds so dear. My name is forgettable. My name is loud. But my name is not who I am. Only who I wish to be. It means power.

Brook. A series of letters. Something to be proud of because that is all it is. It does not attach me to a past I do not want or a future I cannot understand. Brook is calm, Brook is known, Brook is loved. Brook is who I am. Brook is where I am comfortable, it is where I am needed. Brook is where I’ve dwelt, where I’ve been frozen too, where I’ve been pushed from. But it will be where I remain until I can leave the past behind, and figure out my future. I fear I will be here forever.

Murdock. A name I’ve never known. A scorn. A single tie, binding me to a past I cannot seem to leave behind. But it is also a seal. A word holding me to a sea the scottish swear I am to protect. But in my life, Murdock will always sting my hands, my tongue, my eyes, every time it is used. I am not Murdock. But the word binds.

My name is not me. I run from it. I run towards it. But I know it will always catch me.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.