Poets logo

My Mother's Hands

a reflection

By Becoming BabsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I haven't felt my mother's hands for almost 18 years, but here is what I remember...

perfectly manicured...

bony, but tender...

clean, & hard-working...

always reaching to give love...

putting on John Denver & Beach boys records...

grabbing our little hands, gently, firmly,

to dance, to comfort, to keep from falling...

they were mother's hands.

I can't remember for the life of me what they look like in my mind,

and my skin doesn't remember how they feel.

But my memories do.

RIP mama - Aug 25th 2002

Happy (now, belated) Mother's Day to all the beautiful, caring moms out there.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.