Poets logo

My Mom's Name

is Chris

By Nicky FranklyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
1
My Mom's Name
Photo by Azmaan Baluch on Unsplash

Dear Chris,

When I was 13 years old,

14,

15, 16, 17, 18,

Until I was 24,

when I had been alive,

on this earth,

hurling through space,

a talking monkey,

when I was alive

you took something from me

no revenge could return.

-

I am sorry

For being so quiet about what was happening between us.

An event

So quiet

No one could hear.

No one could help.

-

Please forgive me

For having no one to talk to.

You secured it so, though.

Bro.

You didn’t let me have friends.

I let you not let me have friends.

My mom thinks we were friends because you said we could hang,

So we hung.

From our silent tongues good for nothing else.

-

Thank you.

Thank you for the assault.

Thank you for the crime,

Which I learned

Years later

Was something that was neither right nor wrong,

It just shouldn’t have happened.

I should’ve,

You should’ve,

We should have, but we didn’t.

We kept going.

Thank you for a decade of delusion.

Defaced.

Thank you for not knowing my name.

Now, today,

I do this today,

Write my name in a way I never could

If you had never taken myself from me

And made me go find it.

I write my name

Like it’s me.

Thank you,

For me.

-

I love you.

I do.

I would have said,

“I do.”

Then it would be you

I divorced

And not that poor soul

Who is not you.

Who I said, “I do”

But I couldn’t,

Could you?

You did.

You said,

“I do.”

To who?

To whom?

The language fails.

I love you, still.

You took everything from me,

But you gave it back

In the years of your absence.

I love you for not being here,

I love someone else loving you.

I love loving someone who’s not you.

I love you:

”Ooh, ooh, ooh, ah, ah ah.”

-

"I'm sorry," you'd say.

I did you dirty.

I had my own,

and I passed it on to you.

-

"Please forgive me," you'd say.

I…I…I,

I don't deserve it.

Mercy eludes me,

who I used to be.

Forgive me for who I was.

-

"Thank you for staying with me,"

You’d say.

I would have taken myself off this earth,

stopped hurling,

stopped howling,

hooting and grunting.

Ha.

Your dream come true.

Thank you for not dreaming me out of existence.

-

I love you.

I do.

I love you.

I love you,

now,

and I'd hug you

for real.

I love you,

now,

I would make you feel

Loved,

adored,

intruded, no more.

I LOVE YOU

I love you,

I do.

Be happy and whole

with the piece that I stole,

put back in your heart so you feel.

-

Like revenge,

Forgiveness is swift

When its time comes

To release and run wild.

The difference is

Now we’re both free.

Sincerely,

Nicky, frankly.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Nicky Frankly

I love writing !

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.