Poets logo

My Mini Critiques in free verse

From last year’s challenge including a brief recap.

By Grz ColmPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
11
Naomi Watts in Mulholland Drive (2001)

This is just a little recap (and links to my original critiques) of last year’s challenge. I’ve been meaning to do this for a while and have just been slack. I liked the challenge because I was able to tap into my love of reviewing films etc. I also chose to write in free verse (rule breaker) to help me separate my ideas more clearly & write sparingly, given the 50 word requirement.

I tried to just write organically i.e write whatever came to me in the minute than do any research. While some of my critiques started as a summary (which was of course was not what the judges wanted) I still did this a little to place the film/book in brief context for the reader, then briefly critiqued my perception of the texts’ by briefly commenting on elements such as themes, social issues, cultural significance and characterisation. I chose three novels and four films for the challenge.

Anyhow, it was a lot of fun - and as L.C. intimated in her recap of the challenge many moons ago - it was great to share some of our favourite things with each other and thus get to know others a bit more during the process of the challenge. ☺️

I still don’t know how the “Jerry Maguire” critique (if we could call it that) got so much attention. That is now my most read story and I felt bad as it’s fifty percent quotes from the film so it was more of a fun go at the challenge! There’s obviously a lot of affection for that movie and its soundtrack though - and I gotta pay my bills somehow. 😆😅 Regardless, I’m low key proud of my other Critique entries which really helped me to write a little again, got me out of a mood slump and back to engaging highly with others on Vocal which has been very fulfilling, including making new friends and gaining new subscribers etc. ☺️

I have also since used the verse form in a few others pieces I didn’t finish in time as well, including later, for some of my favourite Hitchcock films.

Anyhow, if you wish to check these out below in case you missed these then you are very welcome to. 😺

Thanks very much for reading. Please leave a like or a comment if you wish. If you liked these, then you may enjoy my little romp through some Hitchcock’s best films in a similar structure. 🎞 ⬇️

Free Verse
11

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat3 months ago

    Hey there, buddy! Been on a little Vocal break the past couple weeks so I’m late to read your latest! I’ll be catching up later today. This piece is a great collection of your reviews, which I enjoyed so much! Great idea to put them all in one spot. That was a great challenge and I loved your entries!!! Hope you are doing well! 💫💞

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I still want my updates back in my email, I get so behind with this notification thing. See, I missed your stories by days. Sigh. Always a pleasure to catch up.

  • Thank you for the review recap, Grz.

  • I feel so proud to announce that I've already read all of the pieces that you've included here! Looks like I'm your biggest fan!

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    I remember, I love reading your critique reviews. You were very active in that. You found your mojo sort of speak 💕

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fantastic!!❤️❤️💕

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Ahh, that was a fun challenge! I barely remember Jerry Maguire though, excet for that one quote 😅 Thank you for the shout out 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.