Poets logo

My Mind

A Poem

By Samantha Rhyalynn HendrixPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

It never hurts to help…

Until it does.

Until you lose yourself

To the crowd.

Life ain’t a fairytale.

No, it’s a darker turn than that.

The Disney-clean stories only

Lie to our faces.

When darkness comes a’ creepin’

There’s little anyone can do

To keep it from

Taking a toll on our minds,

Stealing our souls.

There’s a place we could find,

Where we could be ourselves,

A special place, outside of the

Conventional. Just take a step inside

My mind.

An enemy…

Is just…

An enemy.

And yet, the words that have no meaning

Still echo in my head.

Animated smiles show me my surrogate hope,

A single flower in the sand, my light on-screen.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Rhyalynn Hendrix

She/her

Eclectic poet, fangirl, and aspiring novelist. Won't hesitate to share my eclectic musings with the world

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.