Poets logo

My Madness Is a Room in My Mind

R.M. Stockton’s March Write Club Challenge

By Bonnie BowermanPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
8
My Madness Is a Room in My Mind
Photo by Andy Li on Unsplash

The one I try to keep the door closed on– locked and barred - to hold it at bay

Sometimes nothing works and it springs open wide – a whirlwind - sweeping away

Reality

In broad strokes painting new worlds that usually, revolve around me

Ones where I am so powerful, so important, so special, so looked up to, where people really see

Who I am – or would be if I could just get a grip and not slip into that deep abyss

That yawns wide every morning trying to swallow me whole – sucking me into its vile dark shadows – that whisper and hiss

Luring me away from what I know is real. Entwining me tight in an electric frenzy of warped thought with searing visions that burn so hot leaving my mind blistered black, cinder husked and cracked

Where I see things I cannot touch and hear all those howling voices that never listen back

Like knives in my head piercing, hurting, cutting me away – slice by slice

The part of me that enslaves and torments the rest - dicing and splicing

My sanity into a frayed thin rope grimly hanging by a thread

Making me wish for an end to it – to be free of the burrowing dread

That one day I will act out a horror unimaginable to those whose minds are whole

Who do not have to deal with these fanged snarling demons of the soul

surreal poetrysad poetryMental Healthheartbreak
8

About the Creator

Bonnie Bowerman

Just a curious soul with a crayon, at the beginning of my writing journey. There were many absorbing detours along the way.

I am so happy, I stumbled upon this community. The depth of talent here, takes my breath away!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶20 days ago

    Terrifyingly well written

  • Lamar Wiggins23 days ago

    Pretty powerful stuff, Bonnie! Loved every evil drop of it! Happy belated congrats for your placement in the competition.

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    I am so right there in the room with you. Permanent madness has set in. I love this poem...

  • ema2 months ago

    Really exciting and moving, good luck in the challenge!

  • Whoaaaa, this was sooo intense! I freaking loved it!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    The strain conveyed in the initial line about trying to keep the door closed lingers through the rest of the piece in the imagery that follows. Impressive piece!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    This poem threatens the opening of hidden and unwelcome depths within this reader. Very effective evocation of the potential for madness within us all. Exceptional poetry! Is anything quite so terrifying as a random, uninvited thought? If only consciousness were singular and I did not contain multitudes.

  • Whew! That was an incredible ride. Your writing is phenomenal, Bonnie! ". . . fanged snarling demons of the soul" YIKES! This is the type of poem that nightmares are made of!

  • If you are interested in participating in the R.M. Stockton's March Write Club Challenge. See the link below: https://vocal.media/writers/march-write-club-prompt-unofficial-challenge

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.