Poets logo

My Love (and Hate) for Alcohol

A poem about my addiction, yet the bane of my existence.

By Crystal A. WolfePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Maria Orlova from Pexels

You’re the fix that I cannot have,


and that lover who cherishes me.


I feel like I need you sometimes


because you make me feel free.

.

On countless occasions,


you’ve helped me forget.


The pain, the torment,


even the regret.

.

You made me say things that I shouldn’t, and


you even helped numb me.


I thought I felt good, but on the inside


I was in unbearable agony.

.

There were days returning from work,


when I could not wait.


I knew in a few sips that


You’d help my feelings abate.

.

I’ve hid you from my husband,


watered your existence down from friends,


the family doesn’t know, but


to this day we’ve yet to make amends.

.

Firsthand, I’ve seen you ruin marriages,


destroy happy lives, and be a tragic story’s ending.


Still, I want you despite the fact


You are completely tormenting.

.

When I don’t have you,


I want some kind of fix.


Cigarette, liquor,


any drink if it’s mixed.

.

You’re the mate who beats me,


yet I keep coming back to you.


I swear that I will be rid of you one day,


and it’ll be in some kind of coup.

.

Despite my yearning,


I love me more.


I’ve had enough of your existence,


you’re more than I can endure.

.

If you think you can control me,


then I’ve had the last laugh.


Because I know that in the end,


I’m on the right path.

.

This poem was originally published on Medium and CrystalsWritingRoom.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.