Poets logo

My Little Hearts

The time we have is all we have

By Chris SantiagoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Our time together fleeting

you'll soon be leaving

I’ve watched you bloom

And become the best you

Before your first words

I held you in my arms

Protected you from harm

Since then you’ve grown and learned

The stolen moments warm

A smile begins to form

Across this weathered face

Time marches a wicked pace

As a thief stealing the past

Your need for me dwindles fast

Leaving only memories and dust

But I'll cling to them I must

It's me who comforts I am told

Although it's you who has my heart to hold

I've held your hands from the start

Now take mine my little hearts

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Chris Santiago

I've always found a bit peace and release in putting word to written medium. I'm by no means an accomplished wordsmith but I find enjoyment in it. My love for writing started from world building that being a dungeon master provided.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Chris Santiago (Author)2 years ago

    There was a time when I thought I wasn't ready for children. I don't know when that transition truly happened but I can't fathom a life with out them. There's a sadness in watching them grow knowing it could be the last time you see that childish innocent smile but the comfort comes from relishing the present.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.