Poets logo

My Life on the Tightrope

It’s early morning juggling and late-night death-defying tricks to manage baths and bedtime...

By Crystal JacksonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by fer gomez on Unsplash

My life is a high wire, tight rope act performed without a net. It’s a circus complete with clowns and a car with too many things and too little space. It’s a contortionist act of reaching the toy fallen just behind my seat while navigating traffic.

It’s early morning juggling and late-night death-defying tricks to manage baths and bedtime and late night fevers. My life never sleeps in, never stops.

My life is a business with budget meetings of one and seduction scheduled between soccer practice and ballet and school plays. It’s assignments completed only to be due again tomorrow.

It’s work without sick days but with all the benefits in the world. I take work home with me. I work on vacation. I clock in and never clock out, and the employees plan revolts over vegetables and pajamas and which movie they want to watch.

My life is beautiful and exhausting and filled with magic.

It’s spectacle, heartache, and wonder.

So much wonder.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Crystal Jackson

Crystal Jackson is a former therapist turned author. Her work has been featured on Medium, Elite Daily, NewsBreak, Your Tango, and The Good Men Project. She is the author of the Heart of Madison series and 3 volumes of poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.