Poets logo

My Life-Long Battle with Eczema

Victory with the Help of a Smooth and Soothing Lotion

By Anthony ChanPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 2 min read
2
Special Thanks to Acharya Tulsi on Unsplash.com

My story begins with a tale of skin so dry,

Eczema's relentless entry made me sigh,

It started small, with a patch on my elbow,

A harbinger of torment, a silent fellow.

But like a whispered secret in the night,

It crept and spread, its unrelenting blight,

From arms to legs, its crimson grip grew,

A map of pain, a canvas of red and blue.

I hid my limbs, ashamed of what they bore,

A mosaic of torment, scars, and more,

No shorts, no pool, the world I couldn't face,

Eczema's curse, with its constant and cruel embrace.

The itching, daily torture, never ceased,

An annoying itch that couldn't be appeased,

Scratching, clawing, I continued to fight,

My invisible tormentor, day and night.

A silent scream within, I'd bear the shame,

A battle waged beneath my skin's cruel game,

The agony of eczema is difficult to explain,

A silent suffering as it spread its reign.

Despair began to engulf me like a cloak,

The future seemed so dim, a path of cloudy smoke,

But during my pain, a beacon shone,

A dermatologist told me all hope wasn't gone.

Prescribed were pills, a lifeline to my soul,

To mend the wounds, to make me whole,

A doctor's touch, a whisper of relief,

With the help of her knowledge, I found a new belief.

And by my side, a smooth lotion's magic grace,

A remedy, a balm to soothe my case,

Over the counter, I found my saving grace,

A healing touch with a smooth and cool embrace.

With time and care, I began to mend,

My skin, my fortress, I'd never let it rend,

My prescription of pills and smooth lotion, both allies in my fight,

Together, they restored my skin to light.

Today, I stand, triumphant, free from chains,

No longer bound by eczema's cruel reins,

A battle won, but never to forget,

The pain and suffering, a lesson set.

To all who bear this ailment's heavy load,

In silence, in despair, on this rough road,

Seek help, my friend, reach out and find,

Victory that will spread to your heart and mind.

Eczema's grip, though fierce, can be withstood,

With doctors, friends, and the strength of good,

Together, we can beat this cruel foe,

And with our victory, a newfound glow.

So, hear my words, loud and clear,

Eczema's not invincible, have no fear,

With hope and help, we'll break its vicious spell,

And be smoothly released from our jailhouse cell!

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Anthony Chan

Chan Economics LLC, Public Speaker

Chief Global Economist & Public Speaker JPM Chase ('94-'19).

Senior Economist Barclays ('91-'94)

Economist, NY Federal Reserve ('89-'91)

Econ. Prof. (Univ. of Dayton, '86-'89)

Ph.D. Economics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    Anthony, what a way to describe, as you say "Eczema's curse". Glad you're feeling better.

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    This is a great poem, you really took us on your journey. I am happy that you’re on the mend.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.