Poets logo

My Life in Color

Sara O'Shea

By Sara O'SheaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

Colors symbolize different parts of my life

The good times, the love, the sadness, the strife

All these events, whether happy or bleak

Have guided my life and made me unique

October gave me my first days on earth

And gifted me opal, the stone of my birth

Thus my journey begins with translucent white

A color that oozes bright shimmering light

Next came orange which means happy to me

Memories of a childhood so joyful and free

My teen years were orange, tinged with bright red

Still joyful and free, but with a fierce hot head

For my darkest of days, this hue was black

The days we lost dad to a heart attack

For many a month a dark grey ensued

Symbolizing my bleak depressed mood

But as time moved on, then came green

A healing color, so calm and serene

Although always there, my sorrow declined

And happy memories crept into my mind

Yellow is next which means knowledge and learning

I graduated from college and then started earning

But my thirst for knowledge got the better of me

And I returned for a master’s in sociology

The color of love is a rich deep red

Thus it symbolizes the day that I wed

We cemented a bond that is honest and strong

And strive for a marriage that is loving and long

Next came pink, the strongest love of all

I had my first child, so perfect and small

Then blue appeared, knocked me to the floor

Postnatal depression shocked me to my core

But pink was always there, carrying me through

A color that shone brighter as my family grew

And our family life bought many colors our way

Mainly orange and pink though, I’m happy to say

As these hues, like emotions, dance round my head

One dominant color emerges instead

Purple floods in, engulfing my mind

As I realize that I am one of a kind

Wisdom and growth emanate from this hue

An epiphany strikes like a bolt from the blue

For as I sit and reflect on my life so far

I realize these colors; they shape who we are

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Sara O'Shea

Passionate about social justice and politics. Hobbies include entering travel competitions and writing short stories and poetry. I love spending time with my family and pets, travelling, and reminiscing about my alternative childhood.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.