Poets logo

My Internal Cult

Encase the belief; In-case it is wrong.

By Jollyoddbod PoetryPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
4
My Internal Cult
Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

Programmed to believe, destined to fail.

Brainwashing myself into devotion seems like the only way to prevail.

Worship leads to revival whilst silent exhaustion suffocates.

Transmuting humanity to enter the promised land that awaits.

Moving forward today means releasing yesterdays vision.

Constantly creating hope to find control in tomorrows mission.

Fuelled by inhibition as I fall to my knees, begging for change from the outside world.

For, the cost of my constant change is my own self-worth.

I pay my debts only to find a balance of anger and destitute dreams.

Taking the veil away from my eyes the inside of my mind screams.

Entranced by obsession and yearning for the next level.

Imaginings made up of illusions and delusions make my thoughts powerful.

In spite of appearance, I am a fearless dictator.

Welcome to my inner cult - will you be my saviour?

surreal poetrysad poetry
4

About the Creator

Jollyoddbod Poetry

Here I am, and here I'll stay;

Like the moon in the darkness that refuses to fade.

Clouds will cover, but cannot take from my reign;

Mark this as the moment that they realise, as they scoff with distain.

They fell asleep, I cannot be blamed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Daniela Alejandra6 months ago

    I'm speechless! This is so powerful.

  • Test6 months ago

    very powerful poem that will resonate with many people.

  • Oooo, this was very poignant yet extremely powerful! Loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.