Poets logo

My Inner Demons

The unseen battle within

By NimbusPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
2
AI image generated by Midjourney

Drip! Drip!

The faucet leaks like my will,

In the quiet, my thoughts refuse to be still.

A mirror cracked, reflecting no guise,

Haunted by soulless eyes, a heart’s quiet demise.

Yet, to the world, my struggle stays concealed,

A tempest within, to none revealed,

A silent scream, drowned by my inner demons.

Whisper! Whisper!

They murmur in tones so somber,

Chilling the marrow within my bones, encumber.

In the hush of night, my spirit leans,

Toward the dark chorus of the unseen.

Their cold breath a fog that preens,

Over a soul caught in between,

Shackled to silence by my inner demons.

Crunch! Crunch!

A sound so final, so dreadfully clear,

A pressure that mounts with the weight so severe.

Depression’s weight, a leaden sea,

Where brightness submerges and hope cannot flee,

A noiseless theater of broken dreams,

Where laughter died and sadness teems,

Each act, each scene, directed by my own inner demons.

Swoosh! Swoosh!

Into the abyss I slide,

Slick as oil there’s nowhere to hide.

These demons, they linger, they lurk, and they lie,

Promising solace, with no tears to cry.

An invisible burden, heavy and grim,

A battle within, to sink or to swim.

Suffocating slowly, I am trapped within the grasp of my inner demons.

Thud! Thud!

My heart pounds against the cage it seems,

In the hushed shriek of my tattered dreams.

Terror, like a cold shiver that runs down my spine,

Is a silhouette that stretches through my soul’s thin line.

Whispers rise as dread intertwines.

Gripped by the night, where no light shines,

I’m locked in a waltz with my inner demons.

Gasp! Gasp!

For air as the walls close in tight,

The pressure, the panic, the flee or fight.

Tick, tick, the clock mocks the moments I bemoan,

In the mirror, a stranger, pale and overthrown.

A labyrinth of thoughts, where fears are overgrown,

A quiet battlefield, chilling to the bone,

In the deepest dark, I befriend my inner demons.

“Nobody wants to listen to you.”

“Nobody likes you.”

“Nobody cares about you.”

Ouch! Ouch!

The agonizing pain of reality,

A visage lost, in the mirror’s brutality.

Eyes that once sparkled, now dull with confusion,

A face I know not, blurred by life’s illusion.

Each line and scar, a story they speak,

Divulges internal warfare fought silently, week after week.

Staring back at me, was the reflection of my inner demons.

Whew! Whew!

In the glass I peer, through the fog of my sighs,

Where the echo of my inner turmoil lies.

A shadow gazes back, through the haze of gloom,

A voiceless individual in a lonely room.

Yet, with a breath, I wipe away despair’s steams,

Revealing a spark, a light that redeems,

And in my reflection, I challenge my inner demons.

performance poetryslam poetrysad poetryCONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

Nimbus

I love showing my creative side through short stories, poetry, articles, blogs and more!

My love for reading, writing and personal growth is endless 📚✍️📈

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.