Poets logo

My Imaginary Enemy

A stream of my (self) consciousness, a mix of angst and paranoia, personified. I am now aware of the 'Ominous' presence that follows me. It is not multiple beings, but one, with many faces and many 'Voices (Bad)', that can disguise Its presence as a swarm around me. It is the warden that plays as a guard, standing atop 'These Walls' that I, myself, built; because It told me to. Why I'm so good at 'Hide & Seek' and gives existence to 'The Mask' I wear. My imaginary enemy, that only exists because I believe it does. If only I didn't know, and ignorance actually was bliss, then maybe, It would not be.

By Josh MorganPublished about a month ago 1 min read
1

i see you

when no one else can

standing there

in the shadow of the darkest corner

watching

from the edge if my peripheral

you want me

to see you

everywhere i turn

you're there

even when i close my eyes

i can feel your burning glare

you torment me

without a sound

not a peep

still

i hear you

when no one else can

whispering in my ear

hidden in the wind that surrounds me

as much as i ignore you

you won't leave

because you need me

to believe in you

for you to exist

that's why

no one else sees

no one else hears

you parasite

feeding off your host

uninvited

hated

but still you stay

tormenting me

in such a way

no one else can

you

my imaginary enemy

Mental Health
1

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna about a month ago

    How haunting and mystherious! Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.