Poets logo

My How Time Flies By

Looking back at two published books of poems

By Rasma RaistersPublished 12 months ago 10 min read
Like
The cover of my second book

Back in August 2017 I suddenly lost my husband and soul mate and life seemed to have ended. Then after a while, I put all my emotions into poetry and published two books of poems. My first book came out in March of 2018 titled Poetic Thoughts Fly and my thoughts were flying all over the place. It is a collection of a variety of poems on different topics. My second book was published in December 2018 titled On the Wings of Love and includes only love poems. Now that five years have passed I thought it was a good time to take a look back on these books and introduce you to some of the poems.

Poetic Thoughts Fly includes a section titled Creative Thoughts, the poems in this section come from pure inspiration about various things.

A poem inspired by one of my favorite children’s books “Alice in Wonderland”

Alice Always Knew It Was So

The white rabbit was telling everyone,

that time was of the essence,

the only way to go is down,

into the rabbit hole,

where it’s safe and warm -

Alice always knew it was so.

The dormouse is shouting,

that not everyone is playing with a full deck

and that the world is filled,

with Alises, who are adventure seekers -

Alice always knew it was so.

Twiddledeedee and Twiddlededum,

insist that it’s double the pleasure,

double the fun

and that two heads are better than one -

Alice always knew it was so.

The Queen of Hearts,

looked at the news today

and began shouting, “Off with their heads!”

but she knew that she couldn’t win and no one would listen -

Alice always knew it was so.

The Mad Hatter looking ever so dapper,

his top hat at a tilt and wearing a most devilish grin,

stated that all of his friends were slightly strange

and that was why they were true friends indeed -

Alice always knew it was so.

The Cheshire Cat his tail swirling about,

is sporting the biggest grin,

he knows that there is a lot of fun ahead,

once another season comes rolling in –

Alice always knew it was so.

For some reason, as a child, I started to love going to the circus. Then after a while, I grew to fear clowns. Then one of my favorite authors Stephen King wrote the novel “IT”. Here is the poem that was inspired by my fear of clowns.

And the Clowns Laughed

Life was dreary

and I was getting weary,

weepy eyed not knowing where to turn

and so very lonely.

It was then in the night,

laying sleepless,

not knowing what to do -

that the clowns began laughing.

Laughter echoed,

so very loud it was

and then suddenly -

unbelievable silence.

The night stretched on

and I wondered,

when the morning would dawn -

in my mind, the clowns laughed.

When the sun rose,

my tired eyes,

squinted in the bright light,

I wondered when the birds would take flight.

Endless day,

with nothing to dream about,

just rampant thoughts -

always running wild.

I wondered,

where it would all end,

when the night -

came riding in again.

In the twilight,

the tears began to fall,

like glittering jewels -

the clowns kept laughing.

Someday even if hope would shine,

some happiness to be mine,

doing a dance in the rain still –

somewhere those clowns would be laughing...

Most of us know what happens if we drink too much whiskey. I love many different musical genres and there have been songs about whiskey. Finally, inspiration came to me. and here is what I wrote about whiskey.

Drink Whiskey

Drink whiskey,

said the old Indian,

while the wind howled

and the windows rattled.

Drink whiskey,

said the old Indian,

and a fierce, crack,

of lightning woke me -

while Indian drums played in my ears.

I sat on my bed,

my hands behind my head,

I lay back

and tossed and turned,

the moonlight spilled -

across the bed and burned.

Drink whiskey,

said the old Indian,

lightning flashed,

rain drummed down,

with a crack and a flash -

I awoke with a start.

Upon the bedside table,

ready and able,

was a glass of whiskey

and a loud voice thundered,

in my head -

Drink whiskey!

That was exactly -

what the old Indian had said.

Two things help me get through life. One is my faith and the other is never letting go of the child inside of me. It helps greatly to never fully grow up and here are my thoughts about that.

Forever Blowing Bubbles

Always a child -

seems to have more fun.

Seeing things -

which to an adult doesn’t mean much.

Children are forever blowing bubbles,

that rise high into the sky,

glittering and shimmering like diamonds –

beneath the sun.

Watching them

blown by the wind,

reflecting rainbow colors,

so simple, so full of joy,

to be forever a child -

blowing bubbles into the wind.

In my child’s mind,

sometimes these bubbles,

were butterflies and other times, birds.

When they splashed and sprinkled,

breaking up above,

laughing with pure joy,

just blowing more bubbles back.

To imagine them flying,

to places unseen,

to watch them land,

on the grass

and glisten there.

So simple to treasure,

such a joy,

I do believe I won’t leave -

to just a child’s pleasure.

So I’ll forever,

be blowing bubbles,

into the wind

and watch them sail away,

laughing with joy,

for the simplest things -

blowing bubbles into the wind.

On the Wings of Love has only love poems. However, I was also being realistic. Even though I was very lucky in love many others are not. So in the section Dark Side of Love, I took a look at what might happen if love does not work out as it should.

It is unfortunate but very true that when a heart breaks there are people who look to the bottle to help ease the pain.

Another Tequila Sunrise

Another tequila sunrise,

found him bleary-eyed

and stubble-chinned,

he started to wonder -

how many more would kill him.

It was his routine,

to stumble about,

trying to remember

what day of the week it was,

trying to put together the pieces -

of his shattered life since she said good-bye.

Fool for falling in love,

cursing his stubbed toe,

he pulled on the cleanest jeans

and shirt he could find.

Then put on his rose colored glasses,

that let him walk about a world -

that seemed colorful if somewhat hazy.

He walked about streets,

lost and awash in a sea,

of uncaring faces,

remembering too many familiar places.

Her words still rung in his ears,

as she had cried crocodile tears,

something about needing a new life -

something about nothing he understood.

She had taken his heart,

so carelessly thrown it aside

and now he didn’t know where to hide,

the booze kept him numb,

it was the best he could be

and by the time the day was done,

he walked into an empty, cold house,

hoping he’d be dead -

before another tequila sunrise came shining on him.

No matter how long a relationship lasted and who the people involved were, once love ends it really hurts.

Love Hurts Deeply

Love can be,

the utmost feeling -

send you reeling.

Brings to mind,

flowers bursting into bloom,

warm and kissed by the sun.

Gentle spring showers,

fresh morning dew,

everything so sparkling and new,

with the rising of the morning sun.

Love can heal

and mend broken hearts -

it has a universal power.

Love can,

fill your heart and soul,

with a warm glow.

Sound and music,

with color and beauty.

When you hear a lovely melody,

with words to stir your heart.

When you see a smile like no other

or hear lilting laughter -

that’s love

and its magic, delight, and joy -

full of passion and tender kisses.

Love can hurt and destroy,

like frozen winter rivers

and cold northern winds.

Love can be cruel,

shooting arrows piercing the heart,

that splinters

and shatters like a fine, porcelain vase.

Love hurts,

it can drive you to your knees

and leave behind such pain.

Dark clouds on a sunny day,

flowers dead and wilted -

alone with only tears for comfort.

Love hurts,

the rose having lost all its petals,

the thorny stem -

piercing fingertips, making them bleed.

Love hurts,

it wounds deep.

Losing sleep,

on long and lonely nights.

As sleep eludes

and nightmares,

take you on frightening flights.

When the heart,

keeps searching but not finding.

Love hurts,

when you’re sure,

there are no more stars in heaven

and the sun has gone away.

When songs have lost their charm,

when you feel that everything in this dreary world -

can do you harm.

When there seems nowhere to run,

no one to turn to

and the moon is just a nightlight in the sky.

When it seems that the world has stopped turning,

time has slipped through your fingers -

love hurts, love hurts and never seems to stop…..

Sometimes you can fall in love so deeply that you’re willing to go anywhere with the one person who possesses your heart.

Sailing the Seven Seas

Our love as a stormy sea,

ever-changing and rearranging.

Emotions high and low,

my heart like a pendulum swinging,

but I’d never change a thing,

‘cause I love sailing on the seven seas with you.

To ease your mind

and to find if I was for you

and you for me,

A true love forever to be,

spent many a sleepless night,

breathlessly waiting for your call.

I held myself together and stood tall,

then I heard from you,

happy to be aboard again -

sailing on the seven seas with you.

This time the seas were most choppy

and many a time we sat side by side silently.

No happy banter or laughter,

you seemed so far away and distant,

with a heavy heart that seemed to be,

beating like a drum in rhythm,

came the realization you returned,

just to make my life happy,

but really never meant to stay -

sailing on the seven seas with me.

So I gently took your hand

and the truth was there in your eyes,

with many regrets and heavy sighs,

trembling with each word of good-bye,

I ached as you walked away,

know that forever you’d stay in my memory

and the days of our love -

sailing on the seven seas with you.

After a breakup, there is always a longing for the one you love to return. Perhaps they’ve had second thoughts until then it is difficult to go on.

Left With Broken Dreams

You left me with broken dreams

and a heart that scarcely beat.

I wanted to die,

when my best dreams

were broken,

like bubbles bursting in the air

and the nightmares began.

Nothing to look forward to,

longing to have you in my arms,

sharing warm kisses,

loving and smiling -

as we once did.

Perhaps all along,

it wasn’t love,

but lies that beamed,

from you eyes.

You were my lover

and my best friend -

then you turned my world upside down.

You turned my smile,

into a frown,

you forgot to leave behind,

that glue of hope –

to put together,

my shattered heart.

Now there is nothing but an emptiness

and my eyes are always misty with tears.

Each rising sun seems hazy,

my thoughts so lazy,

looking toward a day,

with nothing to share,

nothing to say.

Still cannot believe that love can grow cold,

always thought some embers,

would still glow.

Was always sure you’d still be around,

then you took the best of me

and made it the worst of me.

Now all I have are broken dreams,

time on my hands,

no more romance.

Pain in my heart,

tears with every love song.

Restless nights

and endless broken dreams -

when you said good-bye to me.

Please follow the link to read my first article about my books of poems:

Please follow the link below to see my author page on Amazon:

art
Like

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.