Poets logo

My Horse and Me

Villanelle

By Kathleen McClenahan ComoPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
My Horse and Me
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

A story of my horse and me.

He was fearless and I a girl.

Best of friends you can believe.

We were both wild and free.

Wings as we flew over fences.

A story of my horse and me.

Galloping hard at a fence I see;

hearts pounding together.

Best of friends you can believe.

We were as good as we could be:

trophies, ribbons and awards.

A story of my horse and me.

Riding through the fields and trees.

Eating berries along the way.

Best of friends you can believe.

Puberty and boys came along.

Sad choices had to be made.

A story of my horse and me.

Best of friends you can believe.

By: Kathleen Como

Villanelle
1

About the Creator

Kathleen McClenahan Como

I am an artist that paints ceramics and makes crafts.

I enjoy travel writing and poetry that comes from the heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Poignant reminder of the enduring connection between kindred spirits. Beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.