Poets logo

My Homes

A List

By Darcy A. S. ThornburgPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Homes
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

My homes are many and varied.

There’s the obvious one

where husband, wife,

and daughter all dwell.

My brother is nearby.

Then there’s the sister

with two nephews,

two dogs,

and two cats,

that we have to drive

nine hours

over two days

to get to.

The other sister,

she’s a couple hours farther,

with her husband

and their two boys

and a dog.

Mom lives nearby.

Dad is thirteen hours from us.

He’s all by himself,

but at least he’s got

a good friend next door

for company.

Then there’s the place,

wherever it is,

that the ladies

(and one gentleman)

meet up for crafts

and chatting.

All are welcoming

and willing to help

and teach new crafters,

or just to help me find

my dropped stitches.

One of the crafty ones

has a house near me.

We geek out over crafts

and D and D.

Let’s count them up,

now, let me see.

That’s six,

seven if you count Mom separate,

eight with Brother,

homes for me.

list
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.