Poets logo

My Home

The sand between my toes

By Kevin KlabonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
My Home
Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

Home to the young is a place where your siblings and you live, and don't forget to include your mom and dad, the love they give.

As you grow memories you build, most are touch and sound, and the embrace that only a mother can provide.

You may even move a time or two, as your father is in search of a job to support his family, all of you.

To some you may be the only one - if lucky you may have a brother and a sister, but it's okay if you had none.

I had an apple tree, and a fort, a mud puddle or two, an older sister, and my brother my hero, this I knew!

Another brother and sister were born, and we moved away from this place, to me a foreign land - a place i'd forever hate.

The memories from there, I think I erased, for they were not kind, and to what they were I'd rather not say.

Another move couldn't come too soon, to a magical place, and one that would forever be a home to my siblings and yours truly.

We made the best of what we had, for we had nothing in the monetary means, what we had was worth far-far more.

I wanted the joyous days to last forever - but we all have to age, and one by one we all left this place we called home.

I will think back to this very day, and it wrenches my gut, because I miss my mother and father, brothers and sisters, the memories we made.

I have a new home, with a wife, children , and even a granchild - memories we make, but i still think to the days of old.

I have a home, it's not a place, it's a feeling I can look back on, even one I can create.

Home is what we make, we carry it with us wherever we go, the good, the bad, and all that's between.

Home is the sights, the sounds, even scents, reflections to the days we once lived.

Home is the heart, sometimes scarred, but it is the warmth that we all keep inside, even at times it's the sand between your toes.

inspirational

About the Creator

Kevin Klabon

I am an artist, a musician, an author, a poet, a magician of the written word.

I live no life without pen and paper, or a paintbrush in hand.

If you could share your love for what I love, I would love you to the moon.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kevin KlabonWritten by Kevin Klabon

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.