Poets logo

My Heart Hurts

It's okay for it to hurt. It's not okay to dwell on the pain.

By Thavien YliasterPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
My Heart Hurts
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

My heart hurts.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I have to move on and accept being on my own

I have to connect with myself and learn to be alone

I'm mature, yet it still seems that I'm not fully grown

Seeds of sadness and anguish anchor their roots upon the vessels of my heart, that's where they've been sown

My heart hurts.

By Liviu C. on Unsplash

Why is it that what I desire eludes me, even though I try my best

Why is it that I was wrongly taught to achieve what I desire, I have to travel East to reach the West

Why is is that it's honesty that I've been living and wearing, yet the display is shunned even when adorned upon my chest

Why is it that now the inner child must hold the babe that cries and buries its head into my chest

My heart hurts.

By ANIRUDH on Unsplash

Why is it that to get what I desire, I have to give it up in order to attain

Why in my trying, patience, and efforts is this gift, to be given unto me, from me it is still retained

Why must I continue to have to accept to no longer wish that which I lack, to wish and to have no hope to ever gain

Why is it that through all my years of trial and error, through all of my efforts, Why must you give me this pain and shun me in vain?

My heart hurts.

By Jayden Yoon ZK on Unsplash

My anger, the vengeance, the venom That I can no longer hide

The sadness, the pain, the hurt, This is why people who have felt this have committed suicide

Do you hold me in contempt, and keep me here a prisoner on your clear table? Have I not released all of my angerous venom into your hand; injecting all of the hate that grew and was concocted inside?

Why have you given me this flesh if I have to accept that it will never be accepted To you I have already told all of my earthly desires. In You I did confide

My heart hurts.

To live a life in Your Will

To live my life for Your Fill

I've followed and walked with you and yet still

You tell me that that which I desire is making me ill

My heart hurts.

By Felipe Correia on Unsplash

In a relationship with such treatment I would never accept, since it's more than abusive

Always in my life you are always intrusive

Yet, for You I have to be ever inclusive

Why must I suffer Your abuse, and only remain with you in accepting becoming reclusive?

My heart hurts.

By Road Trip with Raj on Unsplash

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.