Poets logo

My Heart

A poem from my past

By Alan JohnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Heart
Photo by Sebastian Unrau on Unsplash

Here I am again

This cycle will not end

Wounded on the floor

And I don't think I can mend

I say "I can do anything"

Cause it's Christ who strengthens me

But I can't see

I'm just a human

I feel the same

I don't know how to show

And my heart is what's to blame

We're all humans

Who don't know what to do

When the stranger in the mirror looks

A lot like me and you

This chrysalis

Like a misfortune's kiss

or a wedding date I missed

how did it come to this?

I'm no stranger to pain

'cause growing brings a strain

And I find myself here again

looking towards the end

I'm through with these lies

As if everything were fine

if it isn't right

then it's not right

I'm freezing inside

In the desolation of my pride

Something simply isn't right

There's nowhere left to hide

Same old story

I try to wear a crown

But it doesn't fit my head too well

and it ends up slipping down

But then you pick me up

And on your shoulders I can sit

see the crown is much too big for me

you're the one it fits

This chrysalis

Like a misfortune's kiss

or a wedding date I missed

how did it come to this?

I'm no stranger to pain

'cause growing brings a strain

And I find myself here again

looking towards the end

I tried too hard again

distanced from my friends

just able to hear you say

that you love me anyway

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alan John

I'm a Virginia based writer/musician looking to find my place in this wild wild world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.