Poets logo

My Friend Like No Other!

“A true friend is someone who will always love you-the imperfect, the confused, the wrong you because that is what people are supposed to do.”-R.J.L

By Nkeonye Judith IZUKAPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
3
My Friend Like No Other!
Photo by Eye for Ebony on Unsplash

This was a chance meeting!

I had gone on an unintended errand, so had you.

As I wandered around with repeated glances at my watch;

I bumped into you!

That 'inconvenience' was a good one;

For apologies gave way to chats;

And chats gave way to interesting conversations!

Of course, we both lost track of time,

And almost forgot why we had left our houses in the first place!

We knew this was not the end of it;

And so we exchanged phone numbers.

There was never an excuse to meet,

Or chat or talk for endless hours!

There was always something to talk about;

Whether we agreed on that subject or not, that did not matter!

You always pick my brain, as I do yours!

But that isn't the best part…

When life dealt its blows in various forms, shapes, and sizes,

You are always there!

You listen to me endlessly.

You allow me to be silly;

You let me whine.

You always have an interesting perspective.

Even if you don't have a solution or an idea, you don't pretend.

You just listen.

Many times, you showed me the truth of myself I wasn't willing to see!

And allowed me to see your vulnerability too.

You know when to be a 'cushion' or when to be a 'pillar'!

You know when to shut up and when to speak up!

I am so thankful for that unintended errand;

And for the circumstances that pushed you to be in my space.

Now, I embrace providence so willingly because of the hidden gifts it bears!

Someone once said that love could be found in unexpected places.

I couldn't agree more!

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Nkeonye Judith IZUKA

love life & humor, simple, grounded, focused, tenacious, motivated, warm- hearted and a fan of nutrition

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.