Poets logo

My Favorite Soup Of All Time!

"Ask not what you can do for your country. Ask what's for lunch." ― Orson Welles

By Nkeonye Judith IZUKAPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image Credit: Low Carb Africa!

Necessity is the mother of invention!

That's how this recipe became a monthly favorite.

Every month, the hormones would rage on;

Then the feelings of ill health and dysfunction would follow.

You could call it 'necessary evil'; 

But not without a solution!

I decided to work on my diet.

I read up hormone stabilizing foods.

I researched their Iron-rich counterparts.

There were overlapping themes;

Vegetables, proteins, and fruits!

The specifics; Cruciferous veggies and Omega 3!

Then a recipe was born; 

Spicy vegetable soup made with tomatoes and sardines!

Come with me to the kitchen.

Where's that crockpot?

Fish and water go in;

The tomatoes and onions follow,

Then slow cooking…

Next are my spices;

Turmeric, ground scotch bonnet, crayfish, and oregano.

More simmering…

Chopped kale goes in last.

I would leave that for 4 minutes.

Yeah, add salt for taste.

Cooking's done!

There it was; my favorite soup of all time:

Spicy vegetable soup made with tomatoes and sardine.

And yes, my monthly cycles got better.

Such that each would come and go unnoticed.

So long as I had my favorite recipe handy!

Ingredient List

1 medium-sized Kale bunch

1 650 MLS of canned tomatoes

4 pieces of dry ground scotch bonnet

4 medium-sized sardine fish

1 small onion

3 heaped teaspoons of ground crayfish

1 level teaspoon each of oregano and turmeric

Salt to taste

Bibliography

  1. This soup was a household favorite as I grew up. Usually, the cooks were more varied with content. I enjoyed it then for its taste and delicacy. Little did I care to memorize the specific recipe or realize its immense health benefits.
  2. 10 Foods That Can Help Balance Your Hormones Naturally. Bustle. (2020). Retrieved 4 October 2020, from https://www.bustle.com/life/10-foods-that-can-help-balance-your-hormones-naturally-3601864.
  3. Dk Pub. (2013). Healing Foods.

Looking for more poems, check out: https://vocal.media/poets/are-we-growing-or-dying

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nkeonye Judith IZUKA

love life & humor, simple, grounded, focused, tenacious, motivated, warm- hearted and a fan of nutrition

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.