Poets logo

My Father Was An Architect

@just.wxrds

By Joseph ParkinsonPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
See more of my work on Instagram @just.wxrds

My father was an architect,

And he built bridges, town

Halls and a railway station.

He lived on courage and

Drive and the need to leave

His legacy behind for all to see.

My uncle was a businessman,

And he built networks, trust,

And respect for himself. He

Lived on desire and hunger

And the need to be the best.

My brother was an engineer,

And he built cars and motors

And things that whirred. He

Lived on oil and sweat and

Bloody fingers.

I was broken, and built myself

From nothing. I live on fear

And chest pains and little sleep.

We all start somewhere.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.