Poets logo

My Father is an Alien

A poem

By Mather SchneiderPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Father is an Alien
Photo by Chris Hardy on Unsplash

He blends into the crowd

as he waits for me at the airport.

I’m thirty-eight years old

and he asks me if I’ve grown.

The gray in my hair

is like his last

I saw him. At least time

has kept its word.

We hug like squeezing by someone

in an airplane aisle,

arms turnstiles,

bodies hard as suitcases,

before working our way

to the big round lip

of the baggage claim.

I still have his elbows,

his hands and shoulders.

In five minutes we are silent.

Eyes thirst for their own

among the bags that descend,

no two exactly alike, all falling

into the same slow orbit.

END

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mather Schneider

I was a cab driver in Tucson, Arizona for many years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.