Poets logo

My Earliest Memory

A Memoir of My Childhood #VocalNPM

By Megan ArtusPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

My mother and I were in the formal living of our house at the time. A house I don't even remember now. All the walls were painted white, but looked gray because the blinds were shut, the room was shadowed, and the lights were out. Dusty streams of light came streaming through white slits in the window. I was standing in front of a play kitchen. My mom was sitting on the couch in front of me. Her hair was longer, about shoulder length, and yellow. I was eating blueberry muffins. Or rather, I was chewing them up. Taking soggy handfuls of purpley-blue mush out of my mouth and cramming them into the fake plastic sink. I'm not sure why my mother didn't stop me, but she didn't. I think she was distracted. Perhaps on the phone. I don't remember thinking of much. I mostly remember the way it looked. And the way those soggy muffins felt between my tiny fingers.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Megan Artus

@megdmerrillwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.