Poets logo

My Dream

It was all a dream

By TYHEEMA MASONPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
It was only a dream...

Late one night when I was supposed to go to bed, instead of me going to bed, I had watched a scary movie. It was on YouTube. It was very dark, and the rain was coming down hitting against my window wind making howling noise as if our dogs were moaning because they did not want to be outside.

Now, while the movie was almost finish, I was feeling myself dosing off, waking myself back up because I do not want to miss nothing. But I believe I had gone to sleep anyway. All the sudden I see myself running from something dark because it was chasing me. I hid behind this big black rock praying that whoever that was did not see me. So, I had peek around the rock to see if that thing was gone, nowhere to be found, now I need to find my way home.

How did I get here? Am I still sleep? Should I pinch myself, but I do not want to hurt myself. Looking around all I see is trees remind me of the time my family and I went hiking boy we had fun! Walking up this narrow road and I see this same shadow coming at me again now I am running for my life, trying not to look back like those movie actors and fall can’t fall I am too young to die I want to be a Dentist.

As I am running it seems like it's getting darker and darker, now I am scared, but I remember when my mom say when I am scared go ahead and pray God will make me a path, but I am still going to run though. Running, and running stop to take a breath finally look behind me no more crazy running after me, but as I look up there's a light a very bright light, must be safety so I am going to follow the light.

Humming now in relief that I know in my heart I feel safe and secure, humming “This little light of mine”, “ This little light of mine, I'm going to let it shine, let it shine let it shine.” When I got to where I was going and yes man it felt like a hike all by itself but no family thinking about my brother and my big head sister. You know how siblings get to be when you are the youngest but wait until I get big. Anyway, all I know I see home, my home.

My house has the big black door on it, (black is my one of my mom's favorite color). I ran up the stairs but as I was going up the stairs it was a riddle in front of my door, and I knew that I had to solve it before I go in. The riddle had stated, “I met a man on London bridge he tipped his hat an drew his name. I gave you his name what is it? So, I guess the riddle after two tries cause after three times it would of probably gave me another riddle to solve.

Yes! I felt like Dora the Explorer, “We did it ya!” Now I am in the house make it to my room, but it looks crazy because I see myself asleep, so I lay onto of my body like a posses doll and wow! I wake up in a deep sweat, go run into my parents' room and they sleep mushing my mom to wake up and she did. She said, “yes baby” and I said, mom I had a bad dream can I sleep with you tonight? She said, “yes baby you can get in the bed.” So, she scoots over and when she holds me, she pushes me off the bed and say, “if you don’t go take a shower and come back you are sweating girl”.

However, I got up and we laughed got into the shower and back in her bed. Good night! Let us try this again.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.