Poets logo

My Dream House

Fully Furnished In My Mind

By Linda RivenbarkPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
10
My Dream House
Photo by Francesca Tosolini on Unsplash

There is a dream I have long cherished, though it has not come true!

To have a home of my design to bring my problems to.

My joys and my ambitions, my worries and my cares -

A place of my own, away from the world - Life's traumas to repair.

In my mind I go there often and I lock the world away.

Meditation takes my hand and beckons me to stay.

I bundle up against the cold and traipse across the snow

to replenish my bird feeders, then sit down to watch the show.

I watch the morning sunrise from my extra-wide porch swing,

cushioned in plush pillows while I hear the cardinal sing -

"Purdy, Purdy, Purdy", he sings in sheer delight,

as the swirling snowflakes turn the world a soft, resplendent white.

I echo his sweet melody as the snow falls softly down.

I watch the cardinal and his mate pecking on the ground.

In spring, the Carolina wrens will fill the air with song -

"Tea-Kettle, Tee-Kettle, Tea-Kettle" - I’ll try to sing along.

Across the yard I shuffle through the deepening snow,

climb the steps and enter my spacious gazebo.

My wicker rocker tempts me, so I sit and rock a while -

the world seems like a magic place, and I feel like a child.

As the snow continues falling, growing deeper on the ground,

I listen to the silence that is the only sound.

I make my way back to the house, invite myself inside,

turn on my copper kettle and put my boots aside.

With tea cup in my hand, I go to my book nook -

A beautiful bay window with a foot-high stack of books.

I breathe in slowly, deeply, and breathe out to count of five,

Feeling deeply grateful to simply be alive!

***

I know that home is not a house,

It's really so much more.

Eleven places I’ve called home, but that's another story.

The house my Dad built has been home three times throughout the years.

I’ve been blessed and I’ve been cursed with great joy and with tears.

My mind still reaches out to a place I've never seen,

I only find it in my mind...a day- and night-time dream!

inspirational
10

About the Creator

Linda Rivenbark

I believe in the magic of words, love, and tenacity. There is a world out there that needs to be explored, researched, and written out to try to make some sense of it, and to make a better place for the children of tomorrow.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Brilliant & Beautiful!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.