Poets logo

My Doggy Friend

The story of a stray

By Ted LacksonenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
My Doggy Friend
Photo by Marliese Streefland on Unsplash

A college student

Drove to class

Looking for a parking spot in the concrete temple

Among the steel vehicles

*

A stray dog

Wandering, dodging,

Rain-soaked and freezing

Lost on the third floor of the parking garage.

*

My heart melted

And I called to her

Abandoned, and frost-coated.

*

She came to me

Without complaint,

With a tail wagging

And a doggy smile.

*

Class could wait

I took her home,

Gave her a warm bath

And the first proper meal she’d had in weeks.

Her ribs showed this sad reality.

*

Yes, I missed class that day

But I found a new friend and companion,

Loyal, following me everywhere.

*

But time gets the best of all

And she was no different.

A stroke left her blind in one eye

And only three legs that worked.

*

I held her and told her goodbye.

There were tears in my eyes

As the injection went in

And her body went limp.

*

Skipping class is rarely wise,

But there are exceptions to every rule,

And on that sleety winter day,

I made the right call.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Ted Lacksonen

With a history degree, a law degree - which included being an editor of his school's law review - a letter to the editor published in The Wall Street Journal, and a novel to his credit, Ted Lacksonen is no stranger to the written word.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.