Poets logo

My dog Lady

the greatest dog on earth

By Bill BainPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lady and my dad

I got a dog named Lady at the cottage one year.

I loved her so very much, she really was a dear.

She loved her new home, in ravine she did run

and when I played hockey, she had lots of fun.

chasing the ball when it went astray

running after it, often far away

and coming back with it really quick

like a gift from old St. Nick

and when to the cottage we did return

half way up her nose did learn

that something familiar she did smell

and memories caused her to dwell

on time of old when she was young

and howling loud her song she sung

so crazy excited to return

to youthful memories she did learn

and jumping round the cars back seat

her excitement seemed so very neat

and proved that dogs remember stuff

like cotton trees that drop thier fluff

and sandy beaches on which to play

and huron lake, there every day

too bad she didnt like to swim

cause it caused her fun to dim

fear of water's what she had

and wouldnt go in and so my dad

carried her out to waist deep

silently she made no peep

and swimming back she reached the shore

and ran and hid behind a door

but soon she came back to play

as if it was a brand new day

runnning, jumping, landing well

it's a story thats hard to tell

my job it was to feed and clean

I loved her so I was quite keen

to care for her and treat her right

and sometimes for a stick we'd fight

and ice cream's something I always shared

she loved it too, for me she cared.

copyright W.A. Bain 2021

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bill Bain

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.