Poets logo

My Distraction: Longing for a better life

Acrostic Poem

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
12
My Distraction: Longing for a better life
Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

"Did you know that the sky makes the ocean blue?"

I honestly don’t care for skies or for oceans

Sincerely, I am only thinking of how to get out of

This misery, I'm sick of my family telling me that my

reality is this one, just because we are poor, it does not mean I

accept this lifestyle. I want to sit on my own throne, have my own

crown, not worry about having empty purses, I deserve to turn my

tears into crystals, I deserve to leave a house where people think my

Imaginations are a joke, where people think poorness is my only

Option. I want to sleep on a bed in which I will have sweet dreams and

Never have any nightmares. I refuse to be a conf0rmist person.

inspirationalfact or fictionart
12

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Jennifer Cooley11 months ago

    We all have the issue of running into the nay sayers or non supporters in what we do, its part of the challenge of having to decide how much we LOVE what we do and have the passion for it! Its about overcoming the adversary and the challengers in our confidence and desire and interest and not having to rely on the confidence and support of others! But it sure does feel good to have it when we do get it! I have a friend who is always trying to make suggestions or changes to my poetry, and not really able to give an distinct explanation for why she wants or would like to see the change, who herself has NO POETRY or professional writing history or skills! And as much as I know she is my friend I understand the limit of her understanding in what I do and how I know when what I do is RIGHT and not need of any changes when I am ready to type it up in final draft and share it! We have to realize there are a lot of people out there who WISH they could do what we do or do something SIMILAR in the arts, that people sometimes wonder WHY it ISN`T THEM, why are they not the ones with the blessing, or having the success they see us have and so they look for ways to sabotage or tarnish or cause a ripple in our world as a way of showing their mild attitude of defiance in our joy and witnessing us do what we do and how nothing others do ever stops us! You wrote a good piece that shares what so many of us are constantly up against, you absolutely made me think of my relationship with my own Mother and other members of my family and so on, most especially when I was a much younger writer, and still living under her roof and in need of my families care and support! Keep it up, don`t let anyone get in the way of who you are and what you want to do! When you are able to draw a larger line between yourself and them when you are old enough and free to take a chance at starting a life of your own further away from the nay sayers and non supporters I assure you, LIFE WILL GET BETTER, your work, and skills and creativity will continue to flow! As for money its fleeting and momentary, and the life of the Starving Artist is par for the course, but what we gain from living out our true calling as writers is WORTH FAR, FAR MORE than what more money then we`d know what to do with falling into our laps every day! You`re doing just fine, don`t worry about the rest of them, you have all the rest of us who do this too to be a part of, you`ll be just fine! Amen! :-)

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Changing situations can sometimes be harder than solving the problem. One thing is for sure, better days await. Great acrostic, Stephanie! 💖

  • Ruth Stewart12 months ago

    Lovely. It's important, not having to worry, always.

  • Veronica Coldiron12 months ago

    I salute anyone who can write in this style, but you really have a way with words!!

  • C.Z.12 months ago

    I like the flow of this

  • Beth Sarah12 months ago

    Heartfelt and poignant. I relate entirely 👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.