Poets logo

My Darkness-flash fiction

When life gets too overwhelming, and you can't see your way through it.

By D. M. McCoy Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Darkness-flash fiction
Photo by Sam Sy on Unsplash

The darkness consumes me, grabbing me and pulling me further into the pits of despair.

I’m trying to claw my way out of this hole, but the darkness never lets me get very far before pulling me back in.

Fires are burning around me, making me feel like a caged animal.

I see creatures with glowing red eyes standing at the edges of the flames.

These creatures seem to be getting closer as the fires dim down some.

It feels as if they will close in on me at any moment, and I don’t know how to make them stop.

Fear courses through my veins as I feel overwhelmed by all of this.

The creatures get past the fires, grab me and start ripping me apart.

I close my eyes and try to make all of this stop, but when I open them, nothing has changed.

Tears fall out of my eyes as I realize this is my life now.

My sins are finally catching up to me and have pulled me into the depths of hell.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

D. M. McCoy

Dedicating my Life to Writing amazing stories!!!

Book-lover~Stay at home mom~Introvert~Lover of beaches~Army Veteran

Follow me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/d.m.mccoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.