Poets logo

My Country Is On Fire

Melody Campbell

By Melody CampbellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I come from the land down under. We have koalas, kangaroos, crocodiles, the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Hugh Jackman and Men at Work. We are known for our laidback attitude, and are the first to say 'g'day' and to welcome you into our barbecues and parties. But now? I don't really know what to say.

See, I come from the land down under. A place that's known for its slang, beaches, and Paul Hogan with his "where the bloody hell are ya?".

It's our wildlife, and the late, great, crocodile hunter and his fearless wife and daughter. Though, if he was here today, he'd see his beloved homeland being slaughtered.

There are people in uniform that have missed Christmases, New Years' Eve's and New Years' Days this year. While they're helping the lives of strangers, trying to make fires disappear. I come from the land down under, but my beloved land is on fire and starting to fade.

Is this really how we should be starting our new decade?! Folks exhausted and families at a loss, and still not a word from our country's boss.

I'll admit, I'm not sure of the ins-and-outs of politics, and what they do everyday, but I know enough to know that my leaders should be keeping me safe.

I'm kind of ashamed to say I haven't said my bit. For everytime I open my social media, I see some new part of my beloved home country lit. I love my land down under, but lately my land's caught alight. And as far as I'm aware, there doesn't seem to be an end in sight.

And so, as one final word, I say thank you to those who are tirelessly working for those who cannot. Thank you to those walking around in a haze, whilst our country is ablaze. Those tying themselves up in knots to help families, neighbours and friends. Here's to hoping that there will come an end.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.