Poets logo

My Comfort Zone

Sweet escape

By Andrea PowellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

When chaos is quiet and my thoughts have faded

This makes my heart feel almost…jaded

Its numbing, yet it soothes my mind

It allows me to silence my world and leave it behind

I succumb to the words and feelings of the unknown

I get lost in a life that is not my own

It enchants my mind, body and soul

It strips me, yet makes me feel so whole

I escape this place that I call home

It gives me laser focus and keeps me in a zone

I can get lost here for hours on end

It soothes me more than a friend

It is something that has a hold on my soul like a hook

The one thing that stops my rage is a book

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Andrea Powell

Hi all ❤️ I’m Andrea! I love reading and writing, especially poetry. I just wanted to find a place to express myself and I hope you all enjoy ☺️

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    Hi Andrea. I love your poem. I have subscribed and loved. Hope to read more.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.