Poets logo

My comfort

The best friend I never knew I deserved

By Kaede feyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
My comfort
Photo by Harli Marten on Unsplash

I once believed that being in a relationship would bring me the kind of love, comfort and joy I’ve always wanted. I quickly learned that there are alot of different forms of love, and they are not always good.

Its the person you're with that can either make you or break you in a relationship.

Unfortunately I learned that the hard way…

My relationship left me feeling broken and lost, it was causing me more harm than good.

Little did I know I was losing myself, because of his mind games. He was controlling me, without me realizing I was losing control.

I was so dependent on him, that I didn't know how to escape for fear of what he would do.

I tried finding anything that would bring me comfort, that would help me escape what was hurting me.

I lost hope…

I lost my strength to fight for myself and what made me happy.

It wasn't until a high school friend reached out to me. We lost touch for quite a long time, but when we reconnected it felt almost natural to us. He helped me realize I was drowning in my own despair.

Our friendship grew, he gave me the strength I needed to get back on my feet. He encouraged me to do the things I've always wanted to do.

He became my comfort zone, which I had not realized I needed.

I was so use to relying on myself, because I had no one to rely on. I was alone before I met him.

He showed me that I didn't have to be alone anymore, there was strength in relying on your friends.

I never had someone that could see right through me.

He showed me how to believe in myself again. He was always there, proving to me I could rely on him.

He became my best friend…

I never had anyone I could call when I was feeling down and broken.

He truly accepted me for who I am, and now I dont know what I would do without him. His presence makes me feel at ease, he gives me hope that things will get better.

He saw all my doubts and flaws, and never judged me.

Having him in my life, I realized that I can do so much more.

My comfort zone has grown not only to include him, but became so much more...

It became my dreams, and hopes for a future Ive always wanted for myself.

I found comfort in the things that helped me heal. That helped build my strength and confidence.

I now have my best friend that I never knew I deserved.

His compassion, his kind heart, and his strength was the comfort I never realized I needed.

inspirationalheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Kaede fey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.