Poets logo

MY COMFORT

LOVE SERVED COLD

By Wendy - Empathic TigressPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
7
MY COMFORT
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

In days of golden sand and bliss,

Breaths of joy are few and fleeting

No claws were bared, nor mouths a-twist,

Love served cold awaited eating...

♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡

Spring prepares to close its season,

Our time of joy were rendered small

Rhyme remained, devoid of reason,

My bruises chained me to a wall.

♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡

Dressed to kill she walked the streets,

My dreams flew closer to the sun

My comfort had abandoned me,

Innocence slept, her duty done.

♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡

Maddened bursts of warm words teased,

She broke our bones to make us small

Dread ensued as summer eased,

She sold her soul to break her fall.

♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡

Her bright blue eyes, now faded grey,

Are softer than I have ever known

My wearied heart forgives today,

Poor Mother fears, her time has flown...

♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡

Wendy Phelan - 3 March 2019

Image Google - No Claim

sad poetry
7

About the Creator

Wendy - Empathic Tigress

Born in NZ, living in Australia. With a passion for writing from an early age. Traumatic experiences peppered my life but, gave me deep empathy and unconditional love. Poetry/writing are the best therapy and bring me peace, I hope to share.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.