Poets logo

My Colourful Road

A spectrum of colour

By Lesley RaymondPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I used to see pink blossoms swaying against blue skies so free

But I’d look into my speckled greens and see I wasn’t me

I sometimes walked in yellow when the sun would finally shine

But my colours ran in tiers of black almost all of the time

I moved in muted colour that didn’t match my golden greens

I sometimes felt my life in muted shades of beige and cream

I felt my head pounding in raw, punishing shades of red

I buried rage at constant pain in a scathing scarlet dread

But, I had to keep on loving in indigo, ruby and gold

I tried to feel who I used to be, what got lost in all that’s old

I can now feel gentle yellow or caressing pastel peach

I know my titian colouring is what made me so unique

As sensitive as shades of white, with a body who’d betray

How I saw my colours, as it tried to fade to grey

But colours, nonetheless I have, in everything I do

My brain, my sight, my touch, my cry, I feel the colours too

My unsure laugh carries in swirls of happy teal

I limit any sadness to dampened shades that I don’t feel

My sense of lack of value was like living out dark brown

Trying to keep me down by oozing sable all around

My anxiety tried to stop me with shards of mountainous black

My gumption was its answer in a rising cerulean attack

And loss, which I felt so strongly, I made it fade to misty grey

Now my pride in who I am flows in rainbows every day

My colours surround my soul, soothing pink or red, red hot

My green eyes with titian hair, is an awful lot!

Pain can’t take away the sparkling rose within my soul

Colours travel with me, give me life, as it takes its toll.

From one spectrum to the other is how we are entwined

My pride is in my colours, emboldened in my mind.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.